Need some help with Ubuntu, Node, and tmi.js

Sorry wasn’t sure if I should create a new thread of just stick with the old one so please let me know if I should just go back to the other one.

I am running Ubuntu 18.04 from Vultr. Nodejs v10.5.0 and am getting this error. No issue if I run it on my personal machine. I am somewhat new to node and twitch dev in general but am a complete newb when it comes to ubuntu/vps’s Here is the stripped down bot that is giving me the error below:

[05:52] error: Reconnecting in 2 seconds..
(node:3853) UnhandledPromiseRejectionWarning: Unable to connect.
(node:3853) UnhandledPromiseRejectionWarning: Unhandled promise rejection. This error     originated either by throwing inside of an async function without a catch block, or by rejecting                 a promise which was not handled with .catch(). (rejection id: 1)
(node:3853) [DEP0018] DeprecationWarning: Unhandled promise rejections are deprecated. In the future, promise rejections that are not handled will terminate the Node.js process with a non-zero exit code.
[05:52] error: Reconnecting in 2 seconds..
(node:3853) UnhandledPromiseRejectionWarning: Unable to connect.
(node:3853) UnhandledPromiseRejectionWarning: Unhandled promise rejection. This error originated either by throwing inside of an async function without a catch block, or by rejecting a promise which was not handled with .catch(). (rejection id: 2)

Your app keeps crashing because you are not handling promise rejections. Any unhandled promise rejections will terminate the application process.

For some reason you can’t connect to server, and when your script got error, then you got crash of script.
add this code in your script and you will know what happens

process.on('unhandledRejection', (reason, p) => {
  console.log('Unhandled Rejection at: Promise', p, 'reason:', reason);
})
1 Like