Basic Twitch Connect OAuth Help

Hey

Firstly I am an absolute novice at web development. All I really want is to authenticate through twitch and initially get their username.

I have read https://github.com/justintv/Twitch-API/blob/master/authentication.md#auth-code but have not fully understood it.

I am using this https://github.com/Xxplosions/twitchtv-oauth as it seemed to be the friendliest code I could find.

So I can send the user to authenticate my application, once authorised I can receive my code, I am then using Xxplosions’ class to sort out getting the access token:

class TwitchTV {

var $base_url = "https://api.twitch.tv/kraken/";
      var $client_id = 'removed - INSET ID HERE'; //change this value, should be your TwitchTV Application Client ID
       var $client_secret = "removed - INSET ID HERE"; //change this value, should be your TwitchTV Application Client Secret 
       var $redirect_url = 'http://localhost/test/try.php'; //change this value, should be your TwitchTV Application Rerdirect URL
       var $scope_array = array('user_read','channel_read','chat_login','user_follows_edit','channel_editor','channel_commercial','channel_check_subscription');

/**
 * Channel data for the fetched user
 * @var stdClass
 */
var $channel_data = null;
var $curl_cache;

public function __construct(){
	$this->curl_cache = new TwitchTV_Curl_Cache();
}
function get_access_token($code) {
	$ch = curl_init($this->base_url . "oauth2/token");
	curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_FOLLOWLOCATION, 1);
	curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_RETURNTRANSFER, 1);
	curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_POST, 1);
	$fields = array(
		 'client_id' => $this->client_id,
		 'client_secret' => $this->client_secret,
		 'grant_type' => 'authorization_code',
		 'redirect_uri' => $this->redirect_url,
		 'code' => $code
	);
	curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_POSTFIELDS, $fields);
	$data = curl_exec($ch);
	$response = json_decode($data, true);
	return $response["access_token"];
}