Commercials via API and Dashboard be broken

the v3 commercial calling part of Kraken keeps throwing back 400’s with “missing data” when I did pass a length in the post body.

Somethings dun borked your side :frowning:

v5 commercial calling resulted in a 200 and a message of “Starting commercial break. Keep in mind you are still live and not all viewers will receive a commercial”

But no adverts ran…

I’m also getting reports that this is an issue, and logging a lot of 400’s.

Same problem here. Ads sent by API are not shown in twitch dashboard and are not delivered to viewers.

Hi @BarryCarlyon ,

The example request in the docs seem to be working for me.

Can you provide the matching CURL request you are using for V3? Also, make sure to leave out the OAuth token of course! :slight_smile:

The following fail failed

v3 API - failed
v5 API - failed
Chat command - failed
Dashboard command that I am a editor for - failed

$headers = array(
        'Accept: application/vnd.twitchtv.v5+json',
        'Client-ID: MYCLIENTID',
        'Authorization: OAuth THEKEYOFTHECHANNEL',
        'Content-Type: application/json'
    );

$url = 'https://api.twitch.tv/kraken/channels/v3name/commercial';
    $url = 'https://api.twitch.tv/kraken/channels/v5ID/commercial';

$ch = curl_init($url);
    curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_HTTPHEADER, $headers);
    curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_RETURNTRANSFER, true);
    curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_TIMEOUT, 3);
    curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_POST, true);

// v3
    curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_POSTFIELDS,array(
        'length' => 180
    ));

// v5
    curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_POSTFIELDS, json_encode(array(
        'length' => 180
    )));

$result = curl_exec($ch);
    $i = curl_getinfo($ch);
    curl_close($ch);

I get response of “Starting commercial break. Keep in mind you are still live and not all viewers will receive a commercial. with 180” but the ads will not run.

The only way ads will run is if the channel owner triggers them from his dashboard.