Getting Access Token after Authentication

I am creating a Windows Application in C# that requires logging in the user via the Twitch API. A quick disclaimer- I am new to both the Twitch API and C# (only writing in this so I can create a Windows App), so bear with me.

So far I have accomplished the following:

1. The user presses the login button and is redirected to the twitch login page
  2. The user is able to successfully accept using my application and the defined scope (defined in the GET parameter of the url)
  3. The user is redirected to my redirect_url (which is currently a http://localhost page) where their access token is visible as a GET parameter

Now, if I am understanding this correctly, I am going to have to access that access token from my C# program to be able to make the correct GET/POST requests to the API to perform the actions specific to the user. I am not sure where to go from here. How can I pass the token back into my program- is it even possible? Maybe a request of some sort?

Just for testing purposes, I manually hard-coded the generated token and made a GET request to the API, and I was able to successfully pull the user’s information.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks in advance.

You have to send a GET request with Authorization header. :wink:

Exemple with js :

req.open("GET", "https://id.twitch.tv/oauth2/validate", true);
    req.setRequestHeader("Authorization", "OAuth " + hash_GET["access_token"]);
    req.send(null);

This suggests you have used implicit auth?

Did you get a code or a token in the URL?

If it’;s a token in the # section of the URL you are on implicit auth and can use that in the header as suggested.

If it’s a code you need to perform the next step of the oAuth dance and exchange your code for a token

Step 3 On your server, get an access token by making this request: