How do I get a unique token for the state value?

I’m new to the Twitch API, and I don’t know how to get an access token to supply the state value as shown here:

https://api.twitch.tv/kraken/oauth2/authorize
        ?response_type=code
        &client_id=[your client ID]
        &redirect_uri=[your registered redirect URI]
        &scope=[space separated list of scopes]
        &state=[your provided unique token]

I get a 404 error when being redirected the redirect URI.

I tried following steps 1-3 under Authorization Code Flow on the Authentication page leaving state blank. After doing step 2, I copied the code from the URL after getting error 404 again. Then, I filled in the request URL placeholders except for state (which I trying to get) in step 3, attempted to access it,

https://api.twitch.tv/kraken/oauth2/token?
    client_id=[your client ID]
    &client_secret=[your client secret]
    &grant_type=authorization_code
    &redirect_uri=[your registered redirect URI]
    &code=[code received from redirect URI]
    &state=[your provided unique token]

and I ended up with another 404 error in JSON form instead of the response shown in the documentation.

{
   "access_token": "[user access token]",
   "scope":[array of requested scopes]
}

How am I supposed to avoid getting the 404 error if I cannot obtain a token, and how do I even get the token?!

The state is completely optional. It can be used to send data to Twitch which Twitch then passes back to your on authentication…

To auth:

1. Send the user to
    https://api.twitch.tv/kraken/oauth2/authorize ?response_type=code &client_id=[your client ID] &redirect_uri=[your registered redirect URI] &scope=[space separated list of scopes]

swapping [your client ID] for your Client ID, [your registered redirect URI] for your Registered Redirect URI, and [space separated list of scopes] for the scopes you need