How do I make sure that the request my EBS is getting, is genuinely them?

I need to be able to get the viewer’s username, id, or whatever else I can, every time they click on screen. I have tried so many things, but I have no idea what I’m doing wrong. I’ve tried verifying the JWT token, but I don’t understand the concept of them, and either way, I get an “invalid signature” error.

Here’s what I’m doing client-side when people click: (using socket.io)

socket.emit('draw', {
  x: mouseX+1,
  y: mouseY+1,
  color: color
})

And server-side:

socket.on(‘draw’, function (data) {
canvas[data.x - 1][data.y - 1] = data.color;
console.log(data.x, data.y, data.color);
io.emit(‘canvas’, canvas)
})

Like I said, I want to be able to get their IDs so every viewer can only click every 5 seconds. How would I accomplish this?

Btw, I’m a very new developer, so I don’t 100% get everything that’s going on. I’d really appreciate any help, with a slightly noobish explaination. Anything helps!

The JWT contains all the data you need, the fields you have access to are shown in the docs: https://dev.twitch.tv/docs/extensions/reference/#jwt-schema

The JWT includes a signature which means that only those with your extensions secret (your EBS and Twitch) can sign the JWT, meaning a user can’t edit any values without it failing verification. For a NodeJS EBS you can see the Hello World example and how they handle verifying the secret: https://github.com/twitchdev/extensions-hello-world/blob/master/services/backend.js

Simply put, you use the jsonwebtoken module to verify/sign tokens, and you need to make sure you don’t attempt to use your secret as a string or otherwise it will fail, you need to first change your secret from a string to a Buffer type using const secret = Buffer.from(YourExtensionSeret, 'base64');

1 Like

So I’ve tried what I can. Here’s what I’m doing:

CLIENT:

socket.emit('draw', {
    x: mouseX+1,
    y: mouseY+1,
    color: color,
    token: auth.token
  })

SERVER: