How to create a custom points leaderboard?

Hello everyone,

I would like to create my own points leaderboard. It’s supposed to take certain viewers input (Sub, Dono, Channel Points Reward, and others) and transform it into a value. This number creates a new entry in a leaderbaord or, in case the viewer already has an entry, adds this new number to the already existing entry. For example:

A viewer subed with a Tier 1 sub for 1 month = Viewer gets 500 points and is now on position X on the board.

The problem is: I am completely new to programing. So the last days I searched for a way to get the needed knowledge, but it’s hard to find something, when you don’t know the right words. So far it seems like, I need to make something called API and this website here has the section “Twitch Developer Documentation”, but all this new information is quite overwhelming. Also I have heard, that the Twitch API can’t work with donations, so it would be better to work with something like StreamLabs API or StreamElements API. But I don’t know, if this is true or false.

All in all: How can I realize my project? Where do I start? What do I need to know? Am I on the right way?

Thank you.

The basics on how to fetch and process data from an API.

This sounds like you are jumping in the deep end and have no prior knowledge of any programming language.

What you describe is fairly complex and this suggests you have no knowledge on how to fetch and process data.

Twitch isn’t a “tipping” or “donations” platform. (Tips go to streamers, donations go to charity).

So the correct api for “tips” will depend on whose system you are using.

Everthing else is just a matter of choosing one of the API notification methods, pubsub, eventsub, webhooks, chat, all provide real time data for channel point rewards(*), subs, bits usage etc.

(*) not all custom rewards notify chat.