How to recognize new subscribers and then change their status

I am pretty new to Twitch so I need basic help. I am modifying the JavaScript created via a “Custom Widget”. What I am trying to do is to gift certain users as they subscribe to my channel by making him/her a VIP (I assume trough the “isVIP” boolean). I am using Java Script created a Stream Elements (SE)custom widget but although I can get a notification when a user subscribes, SE does not give me access a user’s properties, so now I am at square one.

Based on what I described above, can anyone point me to a JS boilerplate where something similar may have been done. If not, what steps would I need to set this up and then gain access to a users to make him/her a VIP.

Thank you for any guidance I can get.

VIP requires a token from the broadcaster, since only the broadcaster can VIP/UnVIP users

So I doubt you’d find a boilerplate for that.

Your best bet here is to skip Stream Elements all together and build a chat bot.

That will listen for a new subscriber and then VIP the subscriber. But it will need to be logged in as the broadcaster.

You’d probably run out of VIP’s quick, since you only have a finite number of VIP Slots.

Thank you so much. This information greatly helps. I have played around with a simple bot previously, so that should get me started. A couple of quick questions about your comments

That will listen for a new subscriber and then VIP the subscriber. But it will need to be logged in as the broadcaster.

When you says “listen”, do you mean the “client.on” command. Will I just need to use something like: “client.on(‘sub’, (channel, tags, message, self) …” ? or is there some other method to listen for a new subsriber?

> You’d probably run out of VIP’s quick, since you only have a finite number of VIP Slots.