How to set a Environment Variables for Frontend

Hi there,

I am new to extension development, and I am struggling with using environmental variables in my extension application.

I am using React for the frontend, and I created a .env file in my root directory.
but no matter what I put in the .env file:

EXT_CLIENT_ID=abcdefg12345
EXT_SECRET=mysecret
EXT_OAUTH=myoauth

or

REACT_APP_CLIENT_ID=abcdefg12345
REACT_APP_TWITCH_SECRET=mysecret
REACT_APP_TWITCH_OAUTH=myoauth

I cannot get those variables and values in my project when tried to
console.log(process.env ===>, process.env) got an empty {} as an output.
(I used webpack and parsed env if it has as follows:

const env = dotenv.config().parsed;

const envKeys = Object.keys(env).reduce((prev, next) => {
    prev[`process.env.${next}`] = JSON.stringify(env[next]);
    return prev;
  }, {});

)

On top of that, how can I add those variables and get the values after I push to the twitch dev console and make it alive?

Thank you.

You should not be putting any of those values into your frontend at all. Everything in the frontend files is public, so you must NEVER store private data, such as OAuth tokens or app/extension secrets, in the frontend or the extension config service.

Not only is it in violation of the Twitch Developer Agreement to expose that data to users, but a malicious user could take advantage of those credentials to render your extension unusable.

Thank you for your reply so quickly @Dist , and for the suggestion.

Yes, I also tried to use OAuth authorization code flow to get the OAuth, by passing the correct params as the doc described:

GET https://id.twitch.tv/oauth2/authorize
    ?client_id=<your client ID> // I got this correct id
    &redirect_uri=<your registered redirect URI> // set to https://localhost:8080
    &response_type=code
    &scope=<space-separated list of scopes>

But what I got is CORS error with redirect to /login route to the Twitch API.