Newbie programmer lf some guidance

Hey Twitch dev forum,
I’m not sure if this is the appropriate place for this (sorry if this isn’t!!), but I was hoping someone could offer some programming guidance. Twitch (both the web and mobile apps) is one of my favorite products, and as a newbie programmer, I was hoping to create something related to it. Even cloning something like twitch chat sounds like an amazing project.

As a little background, I’m fairly familiar with Python and Swift, and so far I’ve created some very basic apps in both languages.

If anyone had any pointers for cool projects for a newbie programmer, or suggest some things I might need to learn first before diving into something like the Twitch API, that’d be awesome!!!

Thank you :smile:
Alex

I am biased but for me c# (sharp) is a really good place to start.

You can create mobile, web and desktop apps using one or many of its libs and its relatively easy to pick up. It takes a little bit of time to get used to, but once how the ‘syntax’ works everything just falls into place.

I may get some hate from people saying “why not start with php” and I say this, php has a way of teaching newcomers “lazy” ways to program and once (if they do) ever migrate over to a stricter language they are going to have a really hard time adjusting. However, going from a strict language (like c#) to php is MUCH simpler.

Google c# ebooks and you’ll get a lot of resources to get you started.

The twitch API isn’t really something to dive into until you’ve managed to make something in a language already. Although for more seasoned programmers understanding the API is easy, for a newcomer it can be daunting to understand.

So for me, here is my suggestions:
Read up on your programming language of choice (c#, c++, php, python, even mirc.) and get to making a smaller project.
Read up on OOP programming “ideologies”
Read up on good programming habits and bad.
Read up on json <- what the twitch api really is.