Not recieving a Viewerlist from Twitch

Hello people,
First of all i want to point out that I am fairly new to Java and programming so I am not really experiended with these kind of projects.
Anyway,latley I have been playing around with creating an Twitch IRC Bot made with Java and the PircBot Libaray.
I can sucessfully connect to the chatroom in my channel and also send message if someone for example types commands like “!time.” in the chat.
I want to improve the bot with adding a Point System for the viewers.The Problem I have is, i cant get a correct Viewerlist from my channel. I using a testaccount and my twitchbot so i should get back a String array of 1 in theory but my array is always empty.

This is my code to recieve the viewerlist:

public String[] getUsersAsStringArray(String channel) {
User[] userArray = getUsers(channel);
int mLength = userArray.length;
String[] users = new String[mLength];
for (int i = 0; i < mLength; i++) {
users[i] = userArray[i].getPrefix() + userArray[i].getNick();
users[i]=users[i]+userArray[i].getNick();
System.out.println(users[i]);
}
System.out.println(mLength+" length of array");

return users;
}

I cant figure out what I am doing wrong maybe you can help me would be very nice:)

You would need to post the getUsers() function block before someone could attempt to help, as that function appears to be filling the userArray with the users in the first place.

On IRC clients the viewer list is populated from /NAMES and JOIN/PART messages. TMI does JOIN/PART messages in a batch every 30 seconds or so.

To get membership state event (NAMES, JOIN, PART, or MODE) functionality. You need to execute:

CAP REQ :twitch.tv/membership

upon connect.

/NAMES is only executed on your join to the channel, but will not list everyone if the channel is large(1000+) in which case it will only populate the moderators and streamer.