OAuth Token Refreshing Help

Hello,

I’m still learning to code, let alone develop items using a sophisticated API such as the one provided by Twitch. I’m currently making an attempt at a chatbot for a buddy’s channel just to get some practice with coding and some of the industry standards that I might see once I’m out in the field. I’ve picked up Javascript for the first time to try and undertake this project, so I’m not super well versed, but I do know some things. i have the chatbot currently working by running it on my own computer through the command prompt. After some research, however, getting the Auth token can be troublesome for extended period of use (i.e. weeks). Not that he is going to be live for that long, but having to manually change the token out after a day or two could be a pain. Seeing as I’m running the bot on my own computer, Authorization Code Flow isn’t really an option, due to needing a client secret and not being able to store it securely, but I’m not opposed to changing where/how the bot is run.

To sum everything up, I was wondering what alternatives there are that would allow me to automatically refresh the token, i.e. Authorization Code Flow. Would I need to run a server of some sort? Would I need to create a website for the redirect uri? And if I would need to run some sort of server for this, do you have any documentation or websites that you can recommend I take a look at?

I’m only currently using the token to read information from the bits:read scope, but I have plans to expand it further in the future. Whether or not these expansions will require other scopes, I am unsure, but we can cross that bridge when we come to it.

Again, I’m new to the entirety of this sort of development, and I may be misunderstanding any of this information, but I’m more than willing to learn. Any help at all would be appreciated and if you need any further information, feel free to ask!

Thank you for your time.