Return challenge field on subscription with Java (EventSub)

Good afternoon to everyone,

Sorry if this is already something answered, but after googling, I didn’t find anything similar to this issue. I’m new with EventSub, and I’ve been this days fighting to prepare it so my Java client can create a ServerSocket with SSL using LetsEncrypt, but the issue comes when I try to return the challenge.

On the EventSub documentation, says that once I get the verification as a POST request using the ServerSocket, and I got that, also the challenge. After getting it, says that I have to return it as a raw value. I checked the challenge, and didn’t seem to be a text that should require an encoding, but I used that in case:

String challenge = URLEncoder.encode(element.asObject().getObject("challenge").asData().getAsString(), "UTF-8");

The problem is that I can’t seem to find a way to send it back, in a way that Twitch returns me another answer than the same verification. I saw that it should give you like a ‘failed’ answer in case you didn’t give a correct answer, but it keeps returning me the ‘pending’ state. This is my actual way to send it back to Twitch in Java:

String challenge = URLEncoder.encode(element.asObject().getObject("challenge").asData().getAsString(), "UTF-8");
System.out.println(challenge);
BufferedWriter writer = new BufferedWriter(new OutputStreamWriter(event.getSocket().getOutputStream()));
writer.write(challenge);
writer.flush();
writer.close();