Second PC for streaming?

Hey there =)

Im pretty new at streaming and i see more and more people using a second pc for streaming.
I asked some why and got always the same answer: You safe much power on your gaming pc and the quality is better cause of it.

Now i am thinking about this and built a “stream-system” too. But my question: Do i need special hardware?
Or is a Dual Core CPU and a capture card enough for it? Or can i use a raspberry with linux interface like this one:
https://www.raspberrypi.org/products/raspberry-pi-3-model-b/

Im sorry for my bad english :S Its not my nativ language :S

You don’t need ‘special’ hardware. OBS runs on your average computer hardware, the quality of the stream will be affected by your settings.
If you want to try to stream at higher qualities and FPS, I wouldn’t not recommend something as small as a raspberry pi, as you need to have the CPU horsepower, and you need some GPU power to properly render/encode the frames (especially if you extra sources instead of just the capture card). Another thing to consider about the PI is that it’s Ethernet speeds (especially when the CPU is already being hit by trying to encode) are much much smaller than your average computer,

Most people use an older PC they weren’t otherwise going to be using, or buy lower end PC’s, such as used PC’s or just lower teir hardware that you can get for around a couple hundred when they build dedicated streaming PC’s.
If your current stream quality or game performance is not able to be handled by your main rig, I would consider instead trying to upgrade your PC parts.

I understand the want/need of a streaming rig, especially given my stream games and PC hardware, but a PI is not going to cut it. Better ways to go about this would be:

• Any older PC’s you have around the house not being used
  • A PC that could be fixed/repurposed into performing this task