Total newbie trying to get started with webhooks

Hi Twitch devs,

Let me preface this by saying I’m by no means a dev, and I’m just doing this for fun and learning. I recently became really interested in making custom Twitch overlays and alerts. I’ve been using AS3 and the Streamlabels (TwitchAlert) desktop app to make a simple sliding panel with recent follower/subscriber/donator/cheerer which it reads from the locally generated text files. I also included a v5 API call to retrieve the person’s profile picture which works nicely. I then embed into HTML and put it into OBS.

However, now I’m trying to make an animation that triggers for an event such as a follow. I have so far done this by constantly polling the local text file (although updating the file twice a few seconds apart makes the animation play twice over each other… so I guess I need to make some kind of queuing system?), but I’m aware that v5 is being removed next year and so I wanted to try and get to grips with using webhooks in advance, and not having to poll the file constantly looks better performance wise.

Can anyone point me in the right direction to actually subscribe to a webhook? I Am I able to use AS3? If not, what language should I be looking at? From my understanding, I basically need to set up a reverse API where Twitch can send me data when events happen, so do I need to have a VPS, or are there any free options? I’ve been over the documentation multiple times and tried a bunch of things but I think I’m just barking up the wrong tree so I’m just trying to start from scratch. Oh, one more question - when v5 is removed, does this mean things like retrieving profile pictures can only be done through webhooks?

Thanks for reading, any help would be much appreciated!

Listening to webhooks requires you to run a publicly accessible web server. This may be difficult on a private network.

The subscription handshake goes as follows.

1. your application starts listening to HTTP requests