Trouble understanding the EBS

I’m thinking of getting into Twitch extension development and so I’ve been reading through the documentation and other resources trying to understand it and see if I would be able to do it.

However, I’m having some trouble wrapping my head around the EBS. I understand its role and how it’s supposed to work, but I’m not sure exactly where I’m supposed to put it. Keep in mind I’m not a web developer, so go easy on me. :sweat_smile:

In all the examples I’ve seen, it seems like localhost is used to host all assets, which is supposed to be for Local Test state, but what happens when I move to Hosted Test and then to release? The documentation says to change the redirect URI to the EBS, but how do I get that? Localhost is obviously not a viable option. The documentation also says to upload only the front-end assets to the Twitch CDN, but that can’t be viable as a redirect URI either since I wouldn’t know what it is. Do I need to purchase the use of the web host? Can I simply host my code on GitHub to use?

I’m also trying to figure out what it would take to connect/authorize a user through Streamlabs to get access to their API, and they also require a redirect URI. This would be the same URI that I use in the Twitch extension URI in the extension settings (i.e. EBS URI), correct?

I’m not seeing any answers to this specific confusion I’m having so I’m guessing I’m just confusing myself, and the answer is trivial. Any push in the right direction is appreciated!

you’ll need to get hosting, and the url to your hosting has to support ssl (https://). Learn the code flows for authentication for oauth, because its important to understanding how to connect to both twitch AND streamlabs in an authenticated state. But basically once you go through the flow in streamlabs, that info is posted to your ebs to use. in most cases you won’t need to follow oauth for twitch extensions, because validating the jwt should be your way of authenticating a user.