Understanding token auth via python

Hello - Decided I wanted a simple Discord bot and learned how to write a VERY simple bot as my first coding project. This lead me to wanting to integrate a notification message system for when specific streamers come online. This is my first attempt at interacting with another API.

As I was doing some research I happened upon a python script to request the data of specific streamers by authorizing the request with your token. It was actually written by a mod here - Barry Carlyon. As I’m still learning I’m currently working my way through the simple request and understanding what exactly is going on and I need a bit of assistance to understand a few things.

The information I’m requesting requires via OAuth or App Access Token. Whenever you request a specific streamers information it appears YOUR token changes upon each request. Reading through the documentation it reads, “The grant request below requires the client secret to acquire an app access token; this also should be done only as a server-to-server request, never in client code.”

Now if I wanted to write a script that automatically sends a message to my discord channel when “x” streamer comes online then that would mean I’d be generating a token every “x” times I make that request. This seems to violate the documentation as it’s in my code.

Am I understanding this correctly? Should this type of request never be on a “x” time loop? Thank you for any guidance

You refer to

yeah?

The code just tells you how to do it.
But it doesn’t give an opinion on where/how to store a token.

The general flow for a “production” script is:

• Script starts
  • Script sees if it has a token in storage
    • If existing token exists in storage, load that token from storage
  • if the token doesn’t exist or has expired
    • generate a token
    • Store that token
  • use token to get stream status

However, for a Discord bot doing live streamer status.