[SOLVED] Webhook subscription never receiving topics or showing up in subscriptions endpoint

I know this is similar to other posts, but I read them all and none of the other posts have a solution that works for me. I develop REST APIs for a living, so I am not new to this at all, but I am totally stumped. I am trying to make webhook subscriptions with a Django webserver.
I can request the subscription just fine. Twitch sends back a 202, and my server gets the challenge request. I send a Response with the challenge string and a 200 status, but then I never get any topics. Also when I poll the https://api.twitch.tv/helix/webhooks/subscriptions endpoint it always shows 0 subscriptions.

I have checked my nginx logs and never get a POST request from Twitch to any subscription endpoint I requested. I have tried using and not using trailing slashes on the callback url, but have the exact same results. Does anyone know what I am doing wrong?

Here is my callback handler code:

@action(methods=['get', 'post'], detail=True, permission_classes=[AllowAny])
    def twitchstreamstatus(self, request, pk=None):
        """Change the status of a stream.

Also handle Twitch stream webhook challenges.
        """
        logger.debug('Subscription webhook call for stream %s', pk)
        try:
            stream = TwitchStream.objects.get(pk=pk)
        except TwitchStream.NotFound:
            logger.warning('Stream %s called by Twitch webhook but not found',
                           pk)
            return Response()

# This is a subscription verification challenge
        if request.method == 'GET':
            logger.info(f'Challenge request for stream {pk}: {stream.display_name}')
            token = request.query_params.get('hub.challenge').rstrip()
            logger.debug('Returning token response: %s', token)
            return Response(token)

data = request.data.copy()['data']
        if not data or data == []: